A Thousand Masks (Poem)

6 Feb

(Late today. Had a busy and tiring Day. Walking 2 miles with a stroller up and down grassy hills along a road with no sidewalk took awhile. Anyway, sometimes you don’t want to answer that question “What’s wrong” and sometimes you don’t want to debate meaningless things. That’s why I have a thousand masks… Another of my favorite poems)

A Thousand Masks

I have a thousand masks
Which one will hide the pain
Several for all my daily tasks
Which today will be the main?

I have a thousand faces
Which one will hide my tears
Out of all my inner suitcases
Which one will hide my fears?

I have a thousand looks
Which one will convince you
As I drown myself in books
I’ve no time for tears
I’ve got far too much to do?

I have a thousand masks
But the one I like the best
No matter what my tasks
When regarding my feelings
You simple have to guess
Ask me how I’m feeling
I’ll simply answer “fine”
I can wear masks one after the other
At any given time
When I feel at my lowest
And I mean really bad
That’s when I’ll wear them all
Just to hide that I am sad
So I’m set if one should fall
If I simply wear them all.

I have a mask of laughter
You may ask if I am well
I’ll simply laugh to show you
And I won’t have to tell
I have a mask of happiness
When inside I’m feeling down
If you put me to the test
You won’t see my inner frown
I have a mask that says “good”
If you ask me how’s my week
You won’t hear me say what could (have been)
Unless my mask should spout a leak
I have a mask that will agree
No matter what you say
If you’ll let me be
It pretends to let you have your way
I have a mask of ignorance
That says “I don’t know”
If you think I’ve got no sense
Maybe you’ll let it go

I have a thousand masks
I wonder which will you think true
Enough for all my daily tasks
Which mask is fooling you?

-TLT

Leave a Reply

