Please Do Not Call Me Dumb (Poem)

4 Feb

(No blog today, instead one of my favorite poems. I’ve been called dumb, retarded, stupid, etc unjustly. Any word that is a synonym of the word “dumb” is banned from use by any child in my house because they mean it and it’s as bad to me as other bad 4 letter words,  can’t we just love? If I say idiot, I say it with L-O-V-E.  :D)

Please Do Not Call Me Dumb
If I have knowledge that I don’t use
Then you may be just in doing so
Otherwise I may just not know
Though you may laugh at my ignorance
Do not laugh at me
I may have knowledge that I don’t use
Even so

Please Do Not Call Me Dumb
Although I may have the knowledge
I may not know how to use it
If I have the knowledge, know how to use it, but do not
Then you may be just in doing so
This may be true, but

Please, Do Not Call Me Dumb
For I may know how to use this knowledge
Yet not understand how doing so would help me or others
Again it may be my ignorance

Please, Do Not Call My Questions Stupid
If I already know the answer
Then you may be just in doing so
Otherwise, I ask quesions to banish my ignorance
For which you should call me smart
Again, if you feel I already know the answer
Then you may be just in doing so
Even so

Please Do Not Call My Questions Stupid
For how can you be sure I know and haven’t forgotten?
Perhaps I am simply checking to be sure I understand
In which case you should call me smart
It is my intelligence

It is at the second you call me dumb or my questions stupid
That you yourself are ignorant
But I will not call you dumb
If you know of your ignorance and do nothing about it
Then I may be just in doing so
Still
I will not call you dumb
If I do so
It would be at that moment that we both would be ignorant
And if this world’s to survive
There should be someone in it that knows better.

-TLT

Leave a Reply

